← Best ryokans in Hakone

Hakone ryokans with a private onsen

Six Hakone ryokans we list have a hot spring bath in every room: Hakone Gora Byakudan, Gora Hanaougi, Natural SPA Auberge gen Hakone Gora, Hakone Kowakien TEN-YU, Hatsuhana and Suiun. Six more have one in some rooms only, so book the right room type, and two have kashikiri baths you take in turns.

Of the every-room inns that publish a price, Hakone Gora Byakudan starts lowest, at ¥40,110 per person with dinner and breakfast. Hotel Senkei in Hakone-Yumoto has rooms with their own hot spring bath from ¥24,692 per adult.

Updated

Compare them side by side

Hakone ryokans with a private onsen
RyokanOnsen in the roomKashikiri bathPublished fromNearest stationMeal plansBooking
Hakone Gora ByakudanNinotairaEvery roomNone listed¥40,110 per personKowakidani Station, pickup by the inn if you ask when bookingDinner and breakfastSee Prices on Agoda
Gora HanaougiGoraEvery roomNone listed¥43,000 per personSounzan Station, about 1 minute on footDinner and breakfastSee Prices on Agoda
Natural SPA Auberge gen Hakone GoraGoraEvery roomNone listed¥52,800 per personGora Station, about 5 minutes by free pickup carDinner and breakfastSee Prices on Agoda
Hakone Kowakien TEN-YUNinotairaEvery roomNone listedNot publishedGora Station, about 10 minutes by free shuttle busDinner and breakfast; breakfast onlySee Prices on Agoda
HatsuhanaSukumogawaEvery room4 baths, free, book a slot, 45 minNot publishedHakone-Yumoto Station, about 10 minutes by free hotel car or busDinner and breakfast; breakfast onlySee Prices
SuiunGoraEvery room3 baths, free, no booking, 45 minNot publishedGora Station, 5 minutes on footDinner and breakfast; breakfast only; room onlySee Prices on Agoda
Hotel SenkeiHakone-YumotoSome roomsNone¥24,692 per personHakone-Yumoto Station, 10 to 15 minutes on foot, or a paid shuttle busDinner and breakfast; breakfast only; room onlySee Prices on Agoda
Ryokan Aura TachibanaHakone-YumotoSome rooms3 baths, ¥3,300 per use, book a slot, 45 min¥33,690 per personHakone-Yumoto Station, 10 to 15 minutes on foot, or a free shuttle on requestDinner and breakfast; breakfast onlySee Prices on Agoda
YoshimatsuLake AshiSome rooms1 bath, free, no booking¥41,800 per personHakone-machi-ko bus stop, pickup by the inn, 15:00 to 17:00; phone aheadDinner and breakfastSee Prices on Agoda
Hakone Yumoto Onsen Tsuki no Yado SaraHakone-YumotoSome rooms2 baths, free, no bookingNot publishedHakone-Yumoto Station, about 10 minutes on foot, or a ¥200 shuttle busDinner and breakfast; breakfast only; room onlySee Prices on Agoda
Ryokan Motoyu KansuiroTonosawaSome rooms2 bathsNot publishedTonosawa Station, 5 minutes on footDinner and breakfast; breakfast only; room onlySee Prices on Agoda
Ryokan RyugudenMoto-HakoneSome roomsNoneNot publishedOdawara Station, about 50 minutes by free shuttle, three runs a day, booking requiredDinner and breakfast; room onlySee Prices on Agoda
Fuji-Hakone Guest HouseSengokuharaNone2 baths, indoor bath free, outdoor ¥500 per person¥8,800 a room for one, no mealsSenkyoro-mae bus stop, 1 minute on foot; about 30 minutes by bus from Hakone-YumotoBreakfast only; room onlySee Prices on Agoda
Gora KadanGoraBath in every room; hot spring not stated1 bath, free, book a slot, 40 minNot publishedGora Station, 3 minutes on foot, or a free car on requestDinner and breakfastSee Prices on Agoda

“Published from” is the lowest price on the inn's own site or booking engine on October 20, 2026, per person with two sharing and dinner and breakfast included unless noted. Rates change by date. Facts come from each inn's own site; where it says nothing, from its page on a booking platform. “Not stated” means neither says.

A hot spring bath in every room

Every room comes with its own bath, so there is nothing to book and no time limit.

Hakone Gora Byakudan

Hakone Gora Byakudan

Ninotaira, Hakone

Onsen in the room
Every room. Open-air, from the inn’s own hot spring source, in all 16 rooms
Kashikiri bath
None listed
Meals
Dinner and breakfast. Kaiseki in the dining room
Getting there
Kowakidani Station, pickup by the inn if you ask when booking
Price
From ¥40,110 per person, two sharing, with dinner and breakfast, on its booking engine
English
English website
Gora Hanaougi

Gora Hanaougi

Gora, Hakone

Onsen in the room
Every room. Open-air, hot spring water, in all 20 rooms
Kashikiri bath
None listed
Meals
Dinner and breakfast. Kaiseki in a private dining room, not in the room
Getting there
Sounzan Station, about 1 minute on foot
Price
From ¥43,000 with dinner and breakfast, per adult according to its booking engine
Tattoos
Allowed in the shared baths
Children
Welcome, except in two second-floor room types
English
English website; Agoda lists English among staff languages
Natural SPA Auberge gen Hakone Gora

Natural SPA Auberge gen Hakone Gora

Gora, Hakone

Onsen in the room
Every room. Open-air, hot spring water from the Gora source, in all 18 rooms
Kashikiri bath
None listed
Meals
Dinner and breakfast. Kaiseki, served in the room
Getting there
Gora Station, about 5 minutes by free pickup car
Price
From ¥105,600 a room for two adults with dinner and breakfast, on its booking engine
English
English website; Agoda lists Japanese as the only staff language
Hakone Kowakien TEN-YU

Hakone Kowakien TEN-YU

Ninotaira, Hakone

Onsen in the room
Every room. Open-air, hot spring water, in all 150 rooms
Kashikiri bath
None listed
Meals
Dinner and breakfast; breakfast only. In the restaurants: buffet, kaiseki or teppanyaki, depending on the plan
Getting there
Gora Station, about 10 minutes by free shuttle bus
Tattoos
Not allowed in the large baths
Children
Welcome, with child rates by age
English
English website; Agoda lists English among staff languages
Hatsuhana

Hatsuhana

Sukumogawa, Hakone

Onsen in the room
Every room. Open-air, the inn’s own hot spring, in all 35 rooms
Kashikiri bath
4 baths, free, book a slot, 45 min
Meals
Dinner and breakfast; breakfast only. Modern kaiseki in private dining rooms
Getting there
Hakone-Yumoto Station, about 10 minutes by free hotel car or bus
Tattoos
Not allowed in the large baths; use the bath in your room or the four private baths
Children
Welcome, with a facility fee for ages 0 to 6
English
English website; Agoda lists English among staff languages
Suiun

Suiun

Gora, Hakone

Onsen in the room
Every room. Open-air cypress bath with hot spring water, in all 43 rooms
Kashikiri bath
3 baths, free, no booking, 45 min
Meals
Dinner and breakfast; breakfast only; room only. Kaiseki in the restaurant
Getting there
Gora Station, 5 minutes on foot
Tattoos
Not allowed in the large baths; use the three free private baths or the bath in your room
Children
Junior high school age and older only
English
Machine-translated English website; Agoda lists English among staff languages

A hot spring bath in some rooms

Only some rooms have one. Choose one of those room types when you book.

Hotel Senkei

Hotel Senkei

Hakone-Yumoto, Hakone

Onsen in the room
Some rooms. All 15 rooms in the main hotel have the inn’s own hot spring, four of them open-air. The Agoda listing also sells the Senkei Plaza annex, whose rooms have an ordinary bathroom
Kashikiri bath
None
Meals
Dinner and breakfast; breakfast only; room only. Kaiseki, served in the room
Getting there
Hakone-Yumoto Station, 10 to 15 minutes on foot, or a paid shuttle bus
Price
From ¥24,692 per adult, two sharing, with dinner and breakfast in the room, on its booking engine
Children
Welcome, with child rates by age
English
English website; Agoda lists English among staff languages
Ryokan Aura Tachibana

Ryokan Aura Tachibana

Hakone-Yumoto, Hakone

Onsen in the room
Some rooms. Open-air hot spring bath in the 24 Kaze no Tachi rooms, which are adults only; none in the 21 Mori no Tachi rooms
Kashikiri bath
3 baths, ¥3,300 per use, book a slot, 45 min
Meals
Dinner and breakfast; breakfast only. Kaiseki-style set dinner in a dining room, not in the room
Getting there
Hakone-Yumoto Station, 10 to 15 minutes on foot, or a free shuttle on request
Price
Kaze no Tachi rooms from ¥33,690 per person, two sharing, with dinner and breakfast, on its booking engine
Children
Welcome in Mori no Tachi only; rooms with their own bath are adults only
English
Short English page; Agoda lists English among staff languages
Yoshimatsu

Yoshimatsu

Lake Ashi, Hakone

Onsen in the room
Some rooms. Open-air hot spring bath in 7 of 18 rooms
Kashikiri bath
1 bath, free, no booking
Meals
Dinner and breakfast. Kaiseki, served in the room
Getting there
Hakone-machi-ko bus stop, pickup by the inn, 15:00 to 17:00; phone ahead
Price
From ¥41,800 per adult, two sharing, with dinner and breakfast; rooms with an open-air bath from ¥50,600
Tattoos
Not allowed in the large baths; use the free family bath or a room with its own bath. Small tattoos hidden by a cover sticker may be allowed in the large baths
Children
Welcome, except in two room types
English
English website; Agoda lists Japanese as the only staff language
Hakone Yumoto Onsen Tsuki no Yado Sara

Hakone Yumoto Onsen Tsuki no Yado Sara

Hakone-Yumoto, Hakone

Onsen in the room
Some rooms. Every room has an open-air bath, but only the special room and the Japanese-Western room use hot spring water; the others use heated water
Kashikiri bath
2 baths, free, no booking
Meals
Dinner and breakfast; breakfast only; room only. Kaiseki in the restaurant; one plan serves dinner in the room
Getting there
Hakone-Yumoto Station, about 10 minutes on foot, or a ¥200 shuttle bus
Tattoos
Not allowed in the large bath; use the two private baths or the bath in your room
Children
Primary school age and older only
English
Machine-translated English website; Agoda lists English among staff languages
Ryokan Motoyu Kansuiro

Ryokan Motoyu Kansuiro

Tonosawa, Hakone

Onsen in the room
Some rooms. Hot spring bath in 7 rooms of the main building, one of them open-air; none in the annex
Kashikiri bath
2 baths
Meals
Dinner and breakfast; breakfast only; room only. Kaiseki in the main hall, not in the room; annex stays are room only
Getting there
Tonosawa Station, 5 minutes on foot
Tattoos
Allowed in the private open-air baths; the inn does not say whether the shared baths allow them
Children
Ages 12 and over only
English
English website; Agoda lists English among staff languages
Ryokan Ryuguden

Ryokan Ryuguden

Moto-Hakone, Hakone

Onsen in the room
Some rooms. Indoor hot spring bath in 3 of 24 rooms, the special lakeside rooms
Kashikiri bath
None
Meals
Dinner and breakfast; room only. Kaiseki in the restaurant
Getting there
Odawara Station, about 50 minutes by free shuttle, three runs a day, booking required
Tattoos
Allowed in the baths, but the inn may refuse tattoos it judges intimidating or upsetting to other guests
Children
Welcome, with child rates by age
English
English website; Agoda lists English among staff languages

Kashikiri baths

A private bath you book or use in turns. Either the rooms have no bath, or the inn does not say whether the room baths use hot spring water.

Fuji-Hakone Guest House

Fuji-Hakone Guest House

Sengokuhara, Hakone

Onsen in the room
None. No bath or toilet in the rooms
Kashikiri bath
2 baths, indoor bath free, outdoor ¥500 per person
Meals
Breakfast only; room only. No dinner served
Getting there
Senkyoro-mae bus stop, 1 minute on foot; about 30 minutes by bus from Hakone-Yumoto
Price
From ¥8,800 a room for one, no meals, plus ¥150 local tax
Tattoos
Allowed, since both baths are private
Children
Welcome
English
English website; Agoda lists English among staff languages
Gora Kadan

Gora Kadan

Gora, Hakone

Onsen in the room
Bath in every room; hot spring not stated. Every room has a private bath, open-air in some room types. The inn does not say which in-room baths use hot spring water
Kashikiri bath
1 bath, free, book a slot, 40 min
Meals
Dinner and breakfast. Kaiseki, usually served in the room
Getting there
Gora Station, 3 minutes on foot, or a free car on request
Tattoos
Small tattoos are allowed in the shared baths; larger ones need the free private bath or an in-room bath
Children
Welcome, with child rates by age
English
English website; Agoda lists English among staff languages
Detail of a Hiroshige woodblock print of Dōgashima, Hakone: guests on an inn balcony looking out over the gorge
Utagawa Hiroshige, Dōgashima, from Seven Hot Springs of Hakone (1852). Public domain; scan: National Diet Library, Japan.

To compare every place to stay in Hakone, hotels included, search Agoda directly.

Questions

Which Hakone ryokans have a private onsen in every room?

Hakone Gora Byakudan, Gora Hanaougi, Natural SPA Auberge gen Hakone Gora, Hakone Kowakien TEN-YU, Hatsuhana and Suiun each have a bath in every room, filled with hot spring water according to the inn.

What is the difference between an in-room onsen and a kashikiri bath?

An in-room onsen is a bath in your own room, usually on a terrace, that you can use at any hour. A kashikiri bath is a private bath shared by the inn’s guests in turns: you book a slot or use it when it is free, and lock the door. Some inns charge for it and some include it in the rate.

Do all in-room baths in Hakone use hot spring water?

No. At Hakone Yumoto Onsen Tsuki no Yado Sara every room has an open-air bath, but only the special room and the Japanese-Western room use hot spring water; the others use heated water. Gora Kadan does not say which of its in-room baths use hot spring water. Check the room description before you book.

What is the least expensive Hakone ryokan with a private onsen?

Of the inns with a hot spring bath in every room that publish a starting price, Hakone Gora Byakudan is lowest, from ¥40,110 per person with two sharing, dinner and breakfast included. Rooms with their own bath cost less at Hotel Senkei (from ¥24,692) and Ryokan Aura Tachibana (from ¥33,690). Fuji-Hakone Guest House has two private baths but none in the rooms, from ¥8,800 a room for one with no meals. These are the inns’ own published prices on October 20, 2026; rates change by date.

Can I use a private onsen in Hakone if I have tattoos?

Yes. A bath in your room or a kashikiri bath is used only by your party. Hakone Yumoto Onsen Tsuki no Yado Sara, Hatsuhana, Suiun and Yoshimatsu keep tattoos out of their shared baths and direct tattooed guests to the private or in-room baths. Gora Kadan allows small tattoos in its shared baths and sends larger ones to its free private bath. Fuji-Hakone Guest House, Gora Hanaougi and Ryokan Ryuguden allow tattoos in every bath.

Which of these ryokans is closest to a station?

Gora Hanaougi is about 1 minute on foot from Sounzan Station on the cable car. Gora Kadan is 3 minutes and Suiun 5 minutes on foot from Gora Station. Of the inns that state a transfer time, Ryokan Ryuguden on Lake Ashi has the longest: its free shuttle from Odawara Station takes about 50 minutes and runs three times a day.

Can children stay at Hakone ryokans with a private onsen?

At most of them, yes, but check the room. Suiun takes guests of junior high school age and older, Ryokan Motoyu Kansuiro ages 12 and over, and Hakone Yumoto Onsen Tsuki no Yado Sara primary school age and older. At Ryokan Aura Tachibana the rooms with their own bath are adults only. Gora Hanaougi and Yoshimatsu exclude children from two room types each.

More on Hakone